PDA

View Full Version : Faster but really, really quiet!

rsgars
Jan-26-2006, 9:46am
Last night I was just determined to see what it would take to play a certain song faster. I am a beginner and am experimenting both with music styles and picks. I found that I could really increase my speed with a very light right-hand touch, not so much attack. Problem is the playing was also very, very quiet. Is this how the speed masters play? Do they use a really light touch with the right hand and count on mic or pickup to provide the volume?

rsgars
Jan-26-2006, 10:31am
I'll reply to my own post by saying that now I discovered the tip in another thread for playing softly at first to help pick up speed, then gradually increase volume. As always, a little slow in reading.

Still open to thoughts if there are any.

Flowerpot
Jan-26-2006, 11:05am
A lot of the pros who play very cleanly at high speed don't play particularly loudly. One of my favorite mandolin players who exhibits a silky-smooth tone at any tempo is Ron Inscore, and he will tend to get covered up in a typical jam, but comes through a mic like gangbusters. Of course there are a few who play blazing passages and really whomp on it too, such as Sam Bush, Ronnie McCoury, and to a lesser extent Alan Bibey. Then you've got Thile on the other extreme, playing so soft you can't hardly hear him across a room, but again big as a barn through a mic.

My take on it is that volume is over-rated. It's nice to be able to cut through a big jam and be heard, but at some point you will be giving up something else (like clear tone, speed, finesse) just to be loud.

woodwiz
Jan-26-2006, 12:22pm
FWIW, I practice loud, but slow. The speed comes with practice. Clean is more important than speed. Playing soft as suggested in the other thread can help, but I think you have to practice mostly like you are going to play, with the proviso that clean and accurate comes before speed.

GBG
Jan-26-2006, 1:34pm