PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else going to St. Louis this weekend?

withak
Mar-29-2004, 9:02pm
Is anyone else going to the St. Louis tionol (http://www.tionol.org) this weekend? There are sessions Friday night, Saturday night, and Sunday; a concert Saturday evening; and workshops during the day on Saturday. John Carty is doing a banjo/mandolin workshop so I'm taking the opportunity to not be completely self-taught (or self-ignorant). I'll be the funny-looking redhead guy, probably with a banjo.

I only remember seeing one banjo and one or two other mandolins at the sessions last year.

John Flynn
Mar-30-2004, 9:15am
I am of Irish descent, interested in Irish music, I live in St. Louis and I hadn't even heard about it, LOL! I am tempted to go. Have you been to one before?

GBG
Mar-30-2004, 10:18am
You need to go. Drag ole Curtis along with you. I wish I could go too.

John Flynn
Mar-30-2004, 10:25am
Good recommendation. Unfortunately, Curtis has an out of town gig, but I plan to go.

GBG
Mar-30-2004, 10:30am
Give us a report on the event. I visit kin folk 1-2 times a year in the St. Louis area. If it is a good festival, I'll plan a trip to St. Louis this time next year.

John Flynn
Mar-30-2004, 1:28pm
GBG:

Will do. Let me know the the next time you are in town. We can do some pickin'. I can either get us to a jam that is already happening, or look into putting one together.

John Flynn
Mar-30-2004, 1:33pm
Also FYI for everyone: I just exchanged emails with the event organizer and he said that they have space in the mandolin/banjo workshop Saturday. Walk-ins would be welcome. BTW, I assume they mean Irish tenor banjo and not the dreaded 5-string "b@^&o" we seem to love to hate here on the Cafe'!

withak
Mar-30-2004, 3:47pm
I am of Irish descent, interested in Irish music, I live in St. Louis and I hadn't even heard about it, LOL! I am tempted to go. Have you been to one before?