PDA

View Full Version : to builders

Gavin Baird
Dec-31-2005, 9:45pm
I have posted several times on the subject of using reverse kerfing. I am wondering why there has been no significant response to the concept of this method. Is it because the material is not available or is it because it is not traditional? In any case I have been using this technique for many years and certainly understand the advantages of its contribution to the stability of the instrument. If any of you dedicated builders out there have constructive comments to make, I would certainly be interested in hearing them and perhaps carrying on a dialogue....Gavin

tope
Dec-31-2005, 10:30pm
Gavin, I have seen your method before in prior threads and your recent input on the rim not fitting the back of the IV kit got me thinking again. I have always thought that the way you make kerfing is probably a good way to make a stable rim assembly. I just haven't had enouph instability in my rims to give me the impetus to persue the new kerfing strategy.
I'd like to hear others thoughts.

Dave Cohen
Dec-31-2005, 11:45pm
I've been using reverse kerfed linings for about two years now, and I like them. They result in a much more stable, rigid rib set, and seem to be easier to execute. I have been making my own linings from spanish cedar, with ganged blades on my table saw. I apply them to the ribs in a rectangular cross section, as they seem to be easier to glue up tightly that way. I then carve a bevel onto the linings with an Ibex plane. The resulting rib sets are sufficiently rigid that the plates could probably be glued to them sans mold. What else can I say? I wish that I had seen yours before I re-invented the wheel myself.

Gavin Baird
Jan-01-2006, 4:06pm