PDA

View Full Version : If I only purchase one book for mandolin.....

Billy Bloodsurf
Dec-28-2005, 6:29pm
What should it be? While I AM new to mandolin, I have been playing guitar for close to 20 years, so I can already flatpick like the dickens and know my modes inside out. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance folks!

glauber
Dec-28-2005, 6:39pm
Jethro Burns, complete mandolin book (http://www.musixnow.com/Jethro.html).

Jason Kessler
Dec-28-2005, 8:50pm
I'm sorry, but I harbor vague yet foreboding reservations in initiating any form of communication with someone named "Billy Bloodsurf." Now if you were to change your name to, say, "Stevie Sunflower" or "Wally Won-The-Lottery," I might see my way clear to mentioning "Masters of the Mandolin" by David Peters. But, as it is, I'd just as soon stear clear of this one. I swear I hear the "Jaws" theme in the background.

Eugene
Dec-29-2005, 12:18am
There is no way to answer this question without knowing a little about the style of music in which you intend to indulge, Guillaume de la vague déferlante du sang.

Billy Bloodsurf
Dec-29-2005, 11:19am
Sorry! My main interest would be primarily bluegrass.

Dfyngravity
Dec-29-2005, 2:26pm
Well close your eyes and and grab. There are many many books out there that say the teach bluegrass but they really don't. Most of every bluegrass instructional book I have picked up is nothing but fiddle tunes. Are fiddle tunes useful in learning bluegrass, absolutely. Fiddle tunes are basically tunes that use to or still do have lyrics and are now mainly played as intrumentals. But Mike Marshall's book call "Inprovisational Concepts" is a good book for learning to improvise.

Here's what I suggest:
1. Learn as many fiddle tunes as you can until you don't want to learn them any more.
2. Do an intensive study of the fretboard by doing all sorts of scales and arpeggios.
3. Listen to as much bluegrass as you can and concentrate on the mandolin player and fiddle player.