PDA

View Full Version : mandolin summer camp

Jan-23-2004, 8:58am
I am new to the mandolin (or any instrument)and would like to get some intensive instruction. I saw an ad for the Steve Kaufman Mandolin Kamp [sic] in Tennessee this coming summer and wondered if it would be any good. Does anyone know anything about it? I would appreciate any advice. Thanks.

David M.
Jan-23-2004, 2:50pm
Jorma Kaukonen has the Fur Peace Ranch, an instructional camp in S.E. Ohio that's not only a guitar camp. Barry Mitterhoff teaches the mando portion of the camp and LOTS of other great musicians teach other instruments as well as The Captain, Jorma, who teaches guitar. He's a great player and from what I hear, a wonderful teacher.

www.jormakaukonen.com is his site and there is a link to the FPR. You can check out the class schedules, instructors, etc.

David Mehaffey

Jan-23-2004, 3:05pm
Thanks, David. I just checked the website, and there's only one mando class on this year's schedule. Unfortunately, it is for intermediate level, which I definitely am not----yet! But I'll keep checking it.

mandocrucian
Jan-23-2004, 3:32pm
Beginner Mandolin Camp (http://www.ext.vt.edu/resources/4h/northern/adult.html#bootcamp), No. VA 4-H Educational & Conference Center, Front Royal. VA #
April 4-7, 2004

Jan-23-2004, 4:13pm
To Mandocrucian: This looks promising. I'm going to check it out.

Joe Mendel
Jan-23-2004, 10:54pm
Camp Bluegrass is very good, also.
campbluegrass.com

Brent
Jan-24-2004, 9:27am
And don't forget the Augusta Heritage workshops in West
Virginia. Five weeks of classes with different themes each week. I have been to bluegrass week twice (once in the mandolin class, once in the bass class), and this year I'm going to Irish week for mandolin. Great people, great food, great pickin'.:mandosmiley:
Brent

mandomiss
Jan-24-2004, 2:48pm