PDA

View Full Version : New Pegasus Case

Rich Michaud
Jan-22-2004, 11:51pm
Last summer I ordered a new Pegasus case. I told Sam that I was not in a rush. It arrived today and was well worth the wait. The exterior is a slate gray color and the interior is a claret red. The case strap is incredibly comfortable hanging off one shoulder. The case is not nearly as bulky as my Calton but has more interior space for storage of strings etc. The support at the neck and headstock is excellent. The keys were on a ring holder made of bone. The shape is cool as well. The six metal clasps work well and are easier to open and shut than the Calton although the Calton has less clasps. If availability and price were the same, my choice would be the Pegasus. On the other hand, I have no experience with how either holds up to being dropped, stepped on, crushed, watered, heated or cooled. My sense is that both will easily stand up to most conditions encountered with reasonable use. I plan to post pics in the near future. By the way, Sam (the Pegasus man) is great to deal with and is very responsive to inquiries, status requests and shell and interior selections. One just has to be patient for the time it takes to make it. For what its worth, I thoroughly recommend the Pegasus.

LilCreekster
Jan-23-2004, 1:17pm
I've had mine for about 6 months now, and I absolutely love it. Definately worth the wait, and one heck of a case. It's comfrotable to carry around, supports the mandolin like a dream (did you ever do those science class projects where you create a container that holds an egg and have it drop from like 2 stories up and have it not break? Kinda like that... the one that won. hahha.) Ok not that I'll be dropping my mando from 2 stories up, but you get the idea LOL.

It's a great investment to protect your instrument, and it makes a great footstool too! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

mandomick
Jan-27-2004, 6:55pm