PDA

View Full Version : need some buying help

moldovamark
Dec-07-2005, 4:59pm
Hi,

I've been playing guitar for 20 years, mando only for the past year, and I think I'm outgrowing the Kentucky 250S I bought sight unseen out of a First Quality catalog. Even with a fresh set of strings it sounds thin and dull. My budget still limits me to a PacRim import, but I don't have the means to compare Kentucky/Morgan Monroe/Michael Kelly/Eastman side-by-side.

I've got right about $700 to spend on a new or used mandolin. Though I'd prefer an F-style, and A-style is fine if it gets me a better instrument for my dollar. I don't care about fancy inlay or binding. I'd rather spend my money on good wood assembled by good hands. My only other consideration is that I'll be using it live with a loud-ish pop/alt.country band, so I'll almost certainly be using a Fishman bridge pickup with it.

Are there makes and models I should be aiming toward? How do Kelly, Monroe, and Eastman compare? (I know Eastman is a sponsor of this site, so I hope thats not an impolite question to ask.) Are there particular on-line stores/sources of information I should be looking at?

I don't know the mandolin market like I know the guitar market, so any advice you can offer would be much appreciated.

otterly2k
Dec-07-2005, 5:14pm
m-mark-
You will definitely get more for your money with A's in this range.

All the companies you mention make some fine instruments and some less than fine instruments. The key, if possible, is to go where you can play some and see if any speak to you. Instruments vary quite a bit one to the other... first hand experience with them will be your best indicator.

Also-
You may well be able to find a used Breedlove in your price range. I got mine for about $750 and that was WITH an upgraded tailpiece, armrest and hard case... keep an eye on the cafe classifieds for these and other good deals.