PDA

View Full Version : "blues" type bluegrass solos

Dfyngravity
Dec-06-2005, 11:49am
Let me first say I am not a professional so some stuff may not be perfect. Anyone else that has input please post!

This is directed to Bluegrasstjej, but anyone else who needs help too. I think this can help with all types of bluegrass soloing.

Ok here is the natural G Major scale:

E|--------------------------------0 2 3-|
A|---------------------0 2 3 5---------|
D|-----------0 2 4 5-------------------|
G|-0 2 4 5-----------------------------|

And here is the G Major Blues scale

E|-------------------------------1---3-|
A|-------------------1---3 4 5--------|
D|------------0 3 5-------------------|
G|-0 3 5 6----------------------------|

Notice the changes in the notes. In the G Blues sclae you now have a flat 3rd(Bb), flat 7th(F natural instead of F#), and you have the C, Db, D combo(4th, flat 5th, natural 5th). When playing a break and you want if to sound bluessy you need to concentrate on the 3,5,7. You will want to play them flat and resolve them to their natural or major form by slidding from the flat to natural or hammering on. But don't play them all this way. If you play every 3,5 and 7 by playing them flat and resolving them it will sound redundant and just not what you are looking for.

Here is an example, it's a little lick in G.

E|---------------------|-------------||
A|---5-2-0-----------|-------------||
D|-4--------4-2-0---|-2-0----- 5-||
G|------------------4-|-----2h4----||
# # # #|_|_|_| #|_|_|_| |_|_|_| # o

I then took it and used the G Major Blues scale and now I use this lick for endings and much more:

E|--------------------------|-------------||
A|-----5-2-0--------------|-------------||
D|-3/4--------4\3-2-0---|-2p0---- 5-||
G|-----------------------4-|-----3/4----||
# # # # #|_|_|_| # #|_|_|_| # |_|_|_| #o

NOTE:the 3/4 and 4/3 in the 1st messure are played as 16th notes not 8th notes. But the 3/4 in the 2nd is played as regualr 8th notes.