PDA

View Full Version : I'm not getting anywhere

Bluegrasstjej
Dec-05-2005, 2:52pm
Hi everyone.
I know there are several good mandolin players around here. I have this problem. I started playing the mandolin 9 years ago, not been playing regularly all the time but last year I had a breakthrough and played a lot, improved on most things.
I also play the fiddle and now the concertina, which I'm quite beginner on so I improve quite fast and learn new things all the time. For some time, I haven't felt any great need to improve on the mandolin, I can play melodies, chords, chops, arpeggios, I feel comfortable with it. So, I wanted to set more time for the new instruments to improve on them.

Now, I really want to learn more on the mandolin again. I just don't know how to advance. There are many things I want to learn better but most of all I'd like to learn to play the bluesy style like Bill Monroe, the typical bluegrass harmonics. I've found some blues scales but will it help just practicing scales?

If I give you a list of things I want to improve on, can you all brain storm here and give me advice on how I could practice (and don't worry if it sounds like obvious things, because at the moment I'm quite stuck on the mandolin)?

-Better, clearer chops
-Better at minor chords
-Blues type of bluegrass breaks
-Not speeding up when I'm not supposed to
-Playing with a clearer tone
-Speed
-Playing up the neck
-Transitions break/chords, chords/break
-Back-up on slow songs (is this possible on the mandolin?)
-Control

I realize that for some of these things, it will helps just practicing chops, for example, or playing up the neck and using the pinky. But could you help giving me advice on how to practice to make it nice to practice when my inspiration is low.

To make one thing clear: I'm not going to take lessons because I don't have time and there is no mandolin teacher around (and I don't have time or money to go further away).