PDA

View Full Version : playing the break of a song

CAS
Dec-03-2005, 11:10am
I have been playing mandolin for 11 months. I started with reading tab and playing scales and then started listening to cds. Since then I've learned how to find what key the song is in and what chords are used. I feel I am ready to learn to play the breaks now, but I just can't seem to fiqure out how to start. I've listened to the break in a slow song and tried to find the starting note to the break, but I can't find it. Finding the key and the chords used is easy compared to this. What can I do to learn it?
Any advice would be appreciated!!
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

Michael H Geimer
Dec-03-2005, 11:54am
Well, since you can already find the key and the chords to the song, locating the starting note of a melody or break shouldn't be too difficult. The first note of the melody is probably one of the notes found in the root chord - the one with the same name as the key of the song.

A song in the key of C is likely to start off with a C chord. Its melody (and any breaks too) will probably start off using one of the notes inside that chord ... C, G or E.

Once you find the first note, look around the various C scales (major, and pentatonics) for the rest of the notes. When the song moves on to the next chord, look at the notes inside that chord and try to find the next note ... it's probably in there. So on ...

Tricks like that don't work 100% of the time, but it happens enough to be usefull and to teach something about how things sound when you play inside the chord tones as opposed to playing around the chords.

Learing by ear is a skill that can take a long time to acquire, so soak up all the advice about it you can ... but just keep trying it and doing it and don't give up too easily, as the effort itself will make you improve over time.

- Benig

adgefan
Dec-03-2005, 2:29pm