PDA

View Full Version : Intermediate/Advanced Books

Katie
Nov-29-2005, 2:28pm
Okay, I'm picky and I know what I want. I hope someone here can help me. I've been playing for nearly a year and a half. I stopped lessons over the summer because of money issues and I wasn't getting much out of them except for fun. I'm an advanced musician, but only an intermediate mandolin player. I'm looking to take myself to the next level of playing, but I can't do that with the resouces I have right now.
Okay, now here's what I want. I'm looking for an etude type of book written in standard notation. I want to improve my finger patterns, but honestly, I don't want to run scale drills, so etudes that work in scales, arpeggios, etc will be great. Chords are probably my weak point, though I can hear harmonic progressions much better than I used to. I frequently go for the two finger chords unless the barred chords are convenient. I'm not looking for a style method. I like multiple styles and want a book that I can apply to whatever I'm playing at the time.
Any suggestions?
*^_^*
Katie

WJF
Nov-29-2005, 3:39pm
so etudes that work in scales, arpeggios, etc will be great.
Any suggestions?
*^_^*
Katie

How about the Bach Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin ... certainly not a method book or collection of etudes but if you want scale and arpeggio work (and some deliciously voiced chords too) that happens to involve some of the most beautiful music ever composed, you can't really go wrong here.

Hope this helps!

Jim Garber
Nov-29-2005, 4:32pm
Come over the classical section where this thread (http://www.mandolincafe.net/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST;f=6;t=29875) is already in progress.

Obviously standard notation is assumed.

Quick answer to your needs is the Goichberg 35 Progressive Etudes for Mandolin. Nice music and it will bend your fingers and mind. it is further discussed in that thread.

Jim

Tom C
Nov-29-2005, 4:41pm