PDA

View Full Version : Michael Kelly Festival Pack vs. Mid-Mo M-O

zzoundss
Nov-28-2005, 10:20pm
Hi all,

I am just starting out playing mandolin. Which would you say would be a better buy out of the two (Michael Kelly Festival Pack or a Mid-Mo M-0)? This is for Christmas so please respond as soon as possible. Thanks a bunch.

otterly2k
Nov-28-2005, 11:19pm
Mid Mo. It's a plainer look, but IMHO a better quality instrument in general, and they are more consistent instrument to instrument. Will do you well for a good long time, even as you grow as a player.

flairbzzt
Nov-29-2005, 9:32am
Mid Mo is the favorite of most here. Personally, I don't care for them, but they get raves for beginner instruments and are more popular at resale than MK's. If you decide on the MK, I believe Dennis at the Mandolinstore is the only guy who has the festival pack mando with a gloss finish if you like that. The standard is a satin finish.

Eric F.
Nov-29-2005, 11:00am
Mid-Mo.

bjc
Nov-29-2005, 11:54am
As an MK owner I will say the quality varies. So if you can play some MKs, do it, but the Mid-Mo would be the safer bet. Of course if you're playing Blue Grass, you'll be wanting some F-holes...

VictorLouis
Nov-29-2005, 12:48pm
I've only played one Mid-Mo, an M4, IIRC. I felt that it's on the small size, both physically and in terms of volume. I CAN see why it's so popular for the folk and Celtic crowd. Coming from an MK, I felt the fingerboard was a bit tight for my taste.

The MK Festival-F will have a much larger neck and fretboard, and may be more comfortable for you to play. It will more than likely be louder, and probably biased toward that bluegrass tone.

YES, MK quality can vary, but it's simply NOT a concern when you're dealing with a fine retailer like T.M.S. Unlike the big-box e-tailers, he can make sure you get the pick-of-the-litter on hand at the time. Plus, he can play a few licks if you're trying to decide between a couple models.

Michael H Geimer
Nov-29-2005, 2:52pm