PDA

View Full Version : Best book/tape etc. for total beginner

wilded
Nov-24-2005, 7:15pm
I am a total know nothing beginner. At the age of 51 I have decided I would like to learn the mandolin. I will be taking my first lesson in December from a mandolin teacher and was wondering what books/tapes etc. would be most beneficial for me to study between now and then. Thanks for you opinion. ET http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

ab4usa
Nov-24-2005, 9:03pm
Ed,

Started 2 years ago at 53. Your just a kid. My instructor started me out with a Bert Casey mandolin primer. If you start with that you will have a couple of songs under your belt before you start. I don't think this will lead you down any "bad" roads. You could also call your instructor and ask.

wilded
Nov-24-2005, 10:03pm
Alan, I just ordered the book and CD. I do not know my instructor as this beginning lesson is a gift from my daughter and I do not know where she bought it yet. Thanks for the info. ET

sean808080
Nov-24-2005, 10:11pm
i second the bert casey choice as the best first learning material. i have a few others that i would not recommend to a beginner. the next one after bert casey would be the bluegrass slow jam for the total beginner with dr. banjo. it's a great counterpart to the bert casey material. thats of course assuming you're interested in old time and bluegrass music. good luck. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

wilded
Nov-24-2005, 10:21pm
I hope to someday be able to play bluegrass and Texas style country. Thanks for the help. ET http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

mr51
Nov-25-2005, 12:07am