PDA

View Full Version : Are there any <1k F styles worth buying?

gmando
Jan-21-2004, 9:27pm
Just pretend i dont know much about mandolins, which i dont, i have been playing for 2 years and recently got a mid-mo m2 which i like but I am looking for an f style mando with a fuller sound... are there any that are less than 1000$ worth looking at? I'm not looking for the best mandolin in the world, just something that will last me a good 5 or 6 years that sounds good and looks good... thanks.
-g

Crowder
Jan-21-2004, 9:54pm
no.

midmando
Jan-21-2004, 10:03pm
^ http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

Seriously, though, Crowder's right. You can do a search for threads on this subject - there's dozens. There are some out there, but not that you'd be happy with for the long haul. However, there are some A styles in that price range that are beautiful and that you (well, I) could be happy with for a long time. For $1000 think sound, not looks.

Jaws
Jan-22-2004, 8:09am
I've only ever seen one. My Dad bought up a F style with tradtitional sunburst finish from a czech builder called Novotny some years ago. It had enough tone & volume to replace the 75 Gibson he was playing. When he upgraded again, the mandolin passed on to me, and I was quite happy to play it for 3 years until I decided to buy a mandolin I could call my own (as opposed to having one on indefinite loan). Had it not been for that (and the fact that I got a good deal on my new mando), I probably would have continued playing the Novotny. But that was bought several years ago, and given the inflation in mandolin pricing, odds are a decent F model under 1000$ would be pretty hard to find. Then again, I'm not an F-style diehard myself... so I don't keep tabs on the market for them
Forgot to say that the finishing was somewhat less than perfect

Lee
Jan-22-2004, 9:23am