PDA

View Full Version : Memorizing

glauber
Nov-20-2005, 10:41pm
As you've no doubt hear me say, i'm mostly a flute player. For whatever reason, it's acceptable for flutists to play from music, so i didn't have to memorize stuff until i started playing Irish (bringing sheet music to an Irish session is sort of like showing up with a pocket protector and a slide rule for the first day of high school - don't do it).

Anyway, even memorizing Irish tunes (8 bars, repeat, 8 bars repeat) is a lot of work for me. How can you people play whole Bach suites from memory? What's the trick?

I'm trying to commit my first Bach thing to memory, and it's a presto from the Dm violin suite, the first piece in the Wolf Press Bach mandolin book. What i'm doing with modest success is attacking it short sections at a time: find the first musical idea, memorize it, move to the next one once i get the first one down, etc. I'm 3/4 of the way into the first part, and it's very hard work.
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wow.gif

How do the pros do it?

groveland
Nov-20-2005, 11:07pm
I do like you're doing - Bigger chunks, one at a time, link them together. But HEARING the thing makes it easy for me. If I can hear a performance of it, I'm not far from memorizing it. That may be the missing link for you. Get via your ears, not the page.

Make sense?

newbreedbrian
Nov-20-2005, 11:09pm
i'm far from a pro, but i do it just the way you said. split it up into sections, when you're comfortable with one section move on to the next. hum the tune as well, so if you're hands aren't goin where they should you can correct that. beyond that, play it slow at first until muscle memory kicks in.

Joel Glassman
Nov-20-2005, 11:46pm
Learning music by ear is the best way for me.
(Playing from sheet music doesn't help me memorize tunes.
Different parts of the brain in use, I guess...)
I start by listening to something a lot, and then being able to