PDA

View Full Version : Jams/Teachers in Western NY

Graewulf
Nov-20-2005, 1:23pm
Does anyone know of any jams, groups, bands, teachers, etc. in the Buffalo, NY area of Western New York. I'm thinking of moving back there from Winchester, VA, but it would kill me not to be around the music anymore. I'm into Celtic, Bluegrass, Old Timey, and other traditional music. I guess what I'm asking is: Will I still have the kind of musical life I'm used to when I move there?

babymedic
Nov-20-2005, 3:30pm
Just do a little web research . . . I don't know any specific sites, but I do know that there's quite an active bluegrass community in Buffalo. I went to college there, before I started playing, so I can't give any details--I was still there when I first began thinking about playing, and I remember finding many instructors in Buffalo. Used to go to the Coffee Bean Cafe on Main for live bluegrass every Monday, but I don't know if they still have that . . .
Amy.

aimee
Nov-21-2005, 1:39pm
Hi Graewulf,

There's lots. If you pm me, I could put your email address on a mailing list- they send news of events from Erie PA to Ithaca.

There used to be a Celtic jam at Nietze's pub in Buffalo, but I've never been.

There's a celtic jam first Sunday of the month at Hadley Bay, near me, on Chautauqa lake. There's bg jam at the tavern in Busti NY. People come from as far as 60 miles away. Anyway, this list will get you started.

johnnymando
Nov-23-2005, 9:03am
Graewulf,
I live east of Rochester in Palmyra.Theres a fellow named Ted Lambert who organizes bluegrass concerts in the Buffalo area.Just had Larry Stevenson this week.Ted may know about local jams.There used to be a good one near Darien Lake in Bennington.The location was changed a couple years ago and I lost track of it.Was hosted by the Western N.Y.old time music assoc.?
Depending on how far you want to travel,theres got to be a jam somewhere....

Katie
Nov-29-2005, 1:58pm