PDA

View Full Version : Thanksgiving Weekend

John M. Riley
Nov-16-2005, 6:44pm
Anyone besides me going to Myrtle Beach for the Thanksgiving Bluegrass Festival?

AlanN
Nov-16-2005, 6:50pm
Ya know, that festival ALWAYS has a killer line-up, and I'm only in NC, but never have gone. I need to http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/sad.gif

mandolin123
Nov-16-2005, 10:32pm
Wentr there several years ago and had a ball. Jamming was excellent in the back behind the stage area.

John M. Riley
Nov-17-2005, 10:21am
Yes, I think the line up is always one of the best. But I often jam alot more than I watch the shows. Ive been playing mandolin for 3 years now, so maybe now I can hold my own in the jams better.

AlanN
Nov-17-2005, 10:32am
Where exactly is this in Myrtle Beach?

Russ Jordan
Nov-17-2005, 5:16pm
Myrtle Beach Thanksgiving Fest is at the convention center. Jamming is Unless things have changed, the sound in the concert area is about as bad as you can find.

AlanN
Nov-17-2005, 6:24pm
Actually, I may be thinking of Jekyll Island as the T-Day festival.

barry k
Nov-18-2005, 10:20pm
Im going on thursday...South Carolina!..I'm looking for some old friends there! The Jekyll Festival is on new years ...s. georgia....same promoters...ususally close to same lineup

AlanN
Nov-23-2005, 6:54am
So, what's the jamming scene like at the Convention Center? Are there rooms? picking areas? Thanks.

barry k
Nov-23-2005, 5:39pm
Alan, it has been a few years since I have been there , but in the past the festival is separated into 2 different sections...1 for the concert area , other for the pickin, and vendors and such...there were some partitions here and there but mostly open. As I recall really good pickin though!...maybe see ya there?...I will be the one with the "A" model with the hot rod flames on it.

AlanN
Nov-23-2005, 6:45pm
Thanks, Barry. I'll look for ya, that mando should not be too hard to spot! I'll be there wit mah bound sound hole gilly.

John M. Riley