PDA

View Full Version : Beginners fiddle

jaco
Oct-31-2005, 9:12am
I'm thinking of learning fiddle in addition to mandolin. Looks like a lot of junk on e-bay out there. Anyone have some advice on brands or sources for something half-way decent? Thanks

Stephen Perry
Oct-31-2005, 9:14am
Eastman VL100. Snow SV200.

Setup is very important. http://www.giannaviolins.com/Information/BowedFAQ.html might prove useful. If you have a real shop with reasonable prices and excellent service near you, then use it.

If you like fiddle you'll want to step up, so make sure you preserve that option wherever you get something from.

Steve

Lane Pryce
Oct-31-2005, 9:14am
I would reccomend Eastman,Gliga and Scott Cao Violins.Like mandolins the setup is everything and that includes gettting a a very decent bow.Get with Steve Perry at Gianna Violins and see what he has to offer. Lp

mandochuck
Oct-31-2005, 11:23am
Steve Perry at Gianna will do you right as he did me. When I started playing the fiddle I purchased a outfit from him (Antique Milano) had the bow upgraded and still use it. Anything I need comes from Steve he spends time with you to find out what your needs are and what type of music you want to play and sets the instrument up just for you...a great guy...will always go back to him....my two cents...chuck http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Fred_Murtz
Nov-01-2005, 8:47am
Find a good fiddle player and convince 'em to help you look at used instruments. You'll get more bang for your buck that way.

nilodnam
Nov-01-2005, 10:12am