PDA

View Full Version : StewMac kit

Mark Franzke
Oct-30-2005, 4:47pm
I am buiding a Stew Mac kit with custom features. I have some prior experience so I went with the Stew Mac because it is more customizable. I would like to see about getting one with an unshaped peghead next time, so that I could use my own shape. Otherwise I have been very happy with the quality of the kit. I will be able to string it up as soon as the tuners arrive.
More photos of the kit in progress can be viewed here:
http://www.banjodog.com/mando_build.html
mark

BlueMountain
Oct-30-2005, 7:19pm
I looked at your web page. Elegant headstock design and well-planned and unusual inlay. Looks terrific.

Antlurz
Oct-30-2005, 7:33pm
If the stain/finish comes out as nice as the rest of it is up to here, You're gonna have a really nice mando on your hands! The peghead mods are really clean! Nice job so far!!!

What do you have in mind for the rest of the project?

Ron

Mark Franzke
Oct-30-2005, 8:05pm
I plan to do a sunburst stain and probably french polish. I am doing this fairly traditional so I can learn all the steps and techniques. I may do some things differently on the next one, assuming this one turns out OK. I'll keep you posted.

Lane Pryce
Oct-31-2005, 9:08am
Congrats on a really fine little A style mandolin.I know you must be pleased with your work. Lp

aaronbrill
Oct-31-2005, 11:18am
That looks really nice, I can't wait to see it once you get the staining and finishing done.

Aaron

Moose
Oct-31-2005, 11:34am
Fine job!! - Also, thanks for sharing those pics!! Moose. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/biggrin.gif

ekim2003
Oct-31-2005, 11:37am
I am buiding a Stew Mac kit with custom features. ....http://www.banjodog.com/mando_build.html[/URL]
mark
Beautiful job Mark....clean out the garage and start production. Anxious to hear about sound qualities. regards Mike (calif)

Celtic Saguaro
Oct-31-2005, 11:54am