PDA

View Full Version : Single Notes or Strumming?

Oct-24-2005, 10:19pm
Hi everybody! I've been playing guitar for many years, and I thought trying out mandolin would be fun. I bought myself a Rogue RM-100A (yes, I know they're cheap!) mandolin, but I have a question. With mandolins, are they primarily used as single-note instruments, or can you play chords and rhythms like you would on a guitar?

Thanks,

Nick

jmkatcher
Oct-24-2005, 10:38pm
All of the above, sometimes even in the same song. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Peter Hackman
Oct-25-2005, 5:56am
Hi everybody! I've been playing guitar for many years, and I thought trying out mandolin would be fun. I bought myself a Rogue RM-100A (yes, I know they're cheap!) mandolin, but I have a question. With mandolins, are they primarily used as single-note instruments, or can you play chords and rhythms like you would on a guitar?

Thanks,

Nick
The mandolin is a soprano instrument and its
possibilites are mainly melodic. You can do a lot
with chords and rhythm, but not "like you
would on a guitar". You simply can't match the
versatility and range of the guitar and you shouldn't try,
but simply ask yourself
what the mando can add to the rest
of the group. If the guitar (in a BG band) has
a strong afterbeat, try to chop on top of that
if he's weaker in that respect, maybe it's
better to strum. Then, for variety, there
is the possibility of long double-stop
tremoloes.

In my view, people tend to play too many
notes in a chord, and mainly those already supplied
by other instruments..I think it's good exercise for your
ears and feeling to play around a bit with three-note chords
and the voice-leading possibilites they offer.
You can chop them, strum them, tremulate them.

Otherwise, the possibilites and demands are style-
dependent. For instance, in jazz you better stick
to the upper intervals of the chord.

Explore!

250sc
Oct-25-2005, 7:06am
Hi Nick,