PDA

View Full Version : Did Flatiron make a Mandola 2MC?

telepbrman
Oct-22-2005, 5:45pm
You all may recall I have a 2MC from 94, well did Flatiron make a 2MC Mandola?

Dfyngravity
Oct-22-2005, 9:19pm
Yup I think so. I think they had a 2K mandola, a 2MC mandola and a 3MB mandola. Possibley more, but I am no expert, maybe someone that know a bunch about Flatiron will chime in. I would actually like to get my hands on a flatiron mandola myself.

steve V. johnson
Oct-22-2005, 9:56pm
Yes, if the "2MC" is the same as a "Scout" and looks like an Army/Navy model.

I had one of those here, sold it for a pal. This one was a deep red finish, the maple striping on the back was only visible in some angles of the light. It was a sweetie. I've seen several of them at auction since, maybe three, and most of them were natural, not red. Actually, I've seen more of the A/N-type Flatiron octave mandolins on auction than I have the 'dolas.

Once upon a time I found some archive/history-of-Flatiron page that listed the specs of the Scout 'dola, but I can't find it now. I was looking for it with Google and found references to auction prices from $560 to $880.

stv

RolandTumble
Oct-24-2005, 5:44pm
The 2MC is not the same as the Scout, though they're the same shape.

The Scout mandola and Cadet mandolin were the lowest "trim lines", done in opaque finish (or nearly so), to cover the fact that the woods weren't the world's fanciest. I think they also had a shorter warranty period, FWIW.

After that came the numbered lines:
#1--no binding, following letter indicated finish (Natural, Cherry, CHocolate)
#2--top bound, fancier woods, letter for wood type (Maple (Wavy or Birdseye), Koa)
#3--back also bound, rosette, even facier woods, letter as for 2 line

I can't actually answer the original question, though....

mrmando
Oct-24-2005, 10:28pm
Yes, they made such a thing. I used to own one. Here is a photo of my cat helping me tune it.

telepbrman
Oct-25-2005, 11:37pm