PDA

View Full Version : "A" model mandolins for Bluegrass?

synthnut
Oct-18-2005, 10:30pm
I'm new to mandolin playing,but do play other instruments....I notice that a lot of the "A" mandolin's that I have played ( very limited experience ) that they seem to have more sustain, and I guess are suited more for Celtic or ?? music .... I do however see mention on the forum about various " A" models that do sound good for Bluegrass and have a good "chop" ...
Out of the various companies, what "A" models seem to sound best for Bluegrass, with good chop, and a good throaty tone ? ..... My thoughts are that since I'm not a good player yet, and the A models seem to be built with better woods than the cheaper F models , maybe I'm better off getting an A model .....Again, I'm looking for something with decent chop, and a good throaty tone..
Does this exist in any of the A models out there ? ...
Thanks, and sorry if this has been asked before ....I tried searching the archives first ....Sincerely,Jim

pickinNgrinnin
Oct-18-2005, 10:43pm
A styles give more bang for the buck.

Cleared for BG playing:

Flatiron
Gibson
Summit
Weber - Beartooth, Absaroka
Collings
Stiver
Givens
Old Wave - I suspect Bill makes F hole A styles
Dearstone

Other suggestions will follow. Can't go wrong with the ones listed above.

Ken Sager
Oct-18-2005, 11:45pm
More bang for the buck is absolutely true. Some of the best sounding BG mandolins are the A models listed above. I'll second the Bozeman Flatiron A's, Collings, Summit, Givens, and especially Old Wave. Bill Bussman indeed makes F hole A mandolins and they're killer.

Oh, and doesn't Tim O'Brien play an A built by that lesser known Nugget guy?

swampstomper
Oct-19-2005, 12:58am
Absolutely true -- you can't tell the difference blindfolded. Tim O'Brien got a pretty good BG sound from his A with Hot Rize.