PDA

View Full Version : Hello, I have a lumpy

Kelly_guy
Mar-18-2004, 10:52am
Hi, I'm a new member to mandolin cafe, and a beginner mandolin player too. I'll have lots of questions about technique, but this isn't the technique forum.

I have an early 70's Gibson A-12. Yep, a lumpy. I've had the thing for almost 15 years. I bought it in Northern CA and played mandolin for a year or so, then switched to playing guitar. Back then, I had the neck reset by Frank Ford at Gryphon in Palo Alto. I must not have stored the instrument properly between then and now, because the neck once again needs to be reset.

I took it to a local luthier here in Madison, at Spruce Tree (I don't know his name, but I gather he has a great reputation). It's about a 2 month wait and several hundred dollars to reset the neck.

Is this something that I could do? I'm a decent woodworker, and I have hide glue and a glue pot. I gather the neck is steamed off by taking off the heelplate and injecting steam in that area. Is this a task that I should attempt myself?

Kelly

John Zimm
Mar-18-2004, 11:02am
Hey Kelly Guy,

Welcome from a fellow Madisonian. I cannot answer your question, for I am not a luthier by any stretch of the imagination. If you do take it to Spruce Tree, let us know how it turns out. I've got an instrument or two needing some work and I am curious to see how they do.

-John.

Kelly_guy
Mar-18-2004, 11:07am
Hello, Buckley! Are you one of those blazingly fast mandolin players I've seen at the Monday night bluegrass jam? That's an intimidating crowd.

Kelly

John Zimm
Mar-18-2004, 11:53am
I've never been to the jam, but one of my coworkers has repeatedly invited me to come. Do you listen to Back to the Country on WORT? I work with Bill Malone's wife and she has been trying to get me to go to the jam. I am a fairly slow player except on a few songs. One of these days I'm going to check it out.