PDA

View Full Version : Just a quick query....

Rob Zamites
Oct-01-2005, 11:51pm
Self-taught players, as a beginner, did you:

a) read lots of tabs to songs you liked and tried to play them all a bit at a time?

b) fixate on *one* particular tune and work on it until you mastered it?

c) actually make the effort to learn about music theory and reading dots?

d) a combination of the above?

I'm taking the approach of picking one to three of my favorites and practicing them, over and over and over -- via tabs and a chord book, since I've a pretty good ear and don't feel like learning to read the dots. Is this a bad approach to take?

N.B. My instrument is 23.5" scale length 'zouk, GDAe; not that it really matters
http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

John Flynn
Oct-02-2005, 1:57am
None of the above for me. Both on the guitar, and later on the mandolin, I started strictly with chords and rhythm when I was first learning. Then, a bit later, I started experimenting with pentatonics and basic melodies by ear. I have learned to read notation and tab, but I use it only as a "crutch." When I can't get a tune by ear, I will refer to it and then get back into the "play by ear" realm as quickly as I can. I rarely wind up playing a tune exactly as it has been tabbed or notated by someone else anyway. I nearly always have some slight variation that sounds better to me. What I am doing lately is following the "Ear Training for Mandolin" CDs and learning to vocalize tunes I am learning and then I transfer them to the instrument. It takes some practice, but it really works!

Jaus
Oct-02-2005, 3:10am
Good question.

I could already read standard notation, which I learned while learning the flute. However, I find it much more difficult to read standard notation with the mandolin. Not sure why, but my brain has a hard time seeing the little dots as a position on the mando's fretboard.