PDA

View Full Version : Guitar Tuned Mandos

Sep-29-2005, 12:46pm
I am primarily a jazz guitarist..(don't hate me)
I do a lot of orchestra pit work for muscials and performers that call for banjo / guitar / mandolin. I recently purchased and have been using very successfuly a Dean 6 string banjo that plays just like a guitar. It works great. It's played more in the style of a 4 string tenor banjo...you know...rink-a-tink-a-tinka....but it sounds great. Now, Dean and Gibson have mandos tuned like a guitar so there is no learning curve. Has anyone out there tried either? The Dean might be my pick since it has double strings on the top 3 strings and singles on the bottom 3. The Gibson is a straight 6....just tuned an octave higher than guitar. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated......GtrPlyr335 in Ohio

Doug Edwards
Sep-29-2005, 1:08pm
I tried one of those Gibson M6's and flat did not like it. It don't ring my bell. My brother in law has a 12 string electric mando/guitar and does quite well with it. Must be the difference in operators.

John Flynn
Sep-29-2005, 1:14pm
What I don't care for on the two models you talked about are: The Deans are pretty cheap instruments. If you are a jazz guitarist, I doubt you will be satisfied with the instrument quality. The Gibson has the quality, but it is overpriced, probably will have little resale value and it doesn't have the paired strings, which is how you get the signature sound.

I play both guitar and mando. Each to ones own, but personally, I wouldn't buy either of the above. Options:

1. Learning mando is not that hard for a guitarist and there are lots of advantages. For one thing, mando tuning takes better advantage of the short scale. Also, there is no substitute for an actual mandolin if you are looking for the mandolin sound.

2. If I just didn't want any learning curve, though, I would just capo up to the 12th fret on a guitar. If I wanted paired strings, I would do it on a 12 string.