PDA

View Full Version : Flatiron Serial Number and Value? (Made in U.S.?)

Sam Brown
Jun-21-2020, 4:01pm
I've been looking for a F-style mandolin for a while, and a Flatiron showed up about an hour away from me. The Label says its a style "F-Festival" and the number says "DW07120097" I haven't been able to figure out what the DW means, but it appears to be made in 2007. They guys asking $1,000, does this price sound fair?

rcc56
Jun-21-2020, 5:05pm
I am not an expert on Flatirons, but the DW prefix does not sound typical of a USA serial number to me.
This might be an Asian instrument. If so, I would consider the price to be high.

Chinese made Flatirons were student grade instruments, of the same grade as modern imports which sell for a few hundred dollars new.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More info:

I just found this from a post on another forum:

"Mandolins previously produced in Bozeman MT between 1977 and 1996, in Nashville TN between 1997 and circa 2003, and China between 2007 and 2009."

pops1
Jun-21-2020, 5:14pm
In 2007 Flatiron mandolins were made in China.

rcc56
Jun-21-2020, 6:19pm
I just google searched "Epiphone serial numbers" and came across a website called www.guitarinsite.nl.
According to that website, a DW prefix indicates that an instrument was made in the DaeWon factory in China.

Further exploration on this website indicates that several brands use a letter prefix to indicate the factory where an instrument was made. If anyone wants to explore this website, it is Dutch and you have to use a translate function to convert the language to English.

Northwest Steve
Jun-21-2020, 7:48pm
To much for a Chinese Flatiron. Usually see them listed in the $700-850 (?) range. For a grand you can find a better mandolin, especially if you are willing to buy an A style.

Aaron Bohnen
Jun-22-2020, 1:19am