PDA

View Full Version : Just bought my first mandolin!

Belle Starr
Mar-16-2020, 10:45am
Hi, Newbie here, first post, though I have been reading a lot of posts the past couple weeks. I decided to take up the mandolin and did a lot of research and this group popped up all the time. What a wonderful place to come for information!! Anyway, I have played a bit of guitar and banjo and decided why not?! This is what I ended up buying, I thought it was so beautiful, so took my chances with a 14 day return policy. Am wondering if anybody has any info. Name inside it is Brookdale guitars. I could not find one lick, :)) I think it sounds amazing, but I have not played any other mando ever. Anybody ever heard of this name??

NickR
Mar-16-2020, 10:49am
It looks like one of Bruce Wei's instruments or the other fellow in Vietnam. That tailpiece looks like the crown of Denmark- or the one on the Carlsberg bottle!
Have fun with your new instrument!

Belle Starr
Mar-16-2020, 11:38am
It looks like one of Bruce Wei's instruments or the other fellow in Vietnam. That tailpiece looks like the crown of Denmark- or the one on the Carlsberg bottle!
Have fun with your new instrument!

I am having fun! Learning to play Will the Circle Be Unbroken. Inside where it has the name is also a picture of a couple cowboys and one on a bucking bronco.

allenhopkins
Mar-16-2020, 11:57am
Googled, can't find "Brookdale" as an instrument brand. NickR's initial reaction seems accurate on the face of it: the instrument has the elaborate inlay and tailpiece commonly found on those built in Vietnam and sold on-line by sellers (generally in Taiwan) like Bruce Wei, Antonio Tsai. and others.

Quality of these instruments does tend to vary. They're uniformly visually striking, but sometimes their construction is less than first-class. Buyers have reported failure of metal parts, inlays that fall out, and use of unseasoned wood with subsequent warping.