PDA

View Full Version : Collings MF & MT - V - MF5 & MT2 ?

Gaelen
Aug-13-2005, 6:11am
I am at the moment contemplating a second Mandolin.

I have been playing for just over 2 years (playing Guitar for about 20 and still do) and would like to get another Mandolin to go with my 1936 Gibson A1.

I don't know wether to go for another vintage one or a new one ?

I have always liked the none cosmetic models and was set to buy a Gibson F9 first time around but was warned off by quite a respected local luthier/player.

So people, what in your vast collective experience is the difference if any in the tone/quality/longevity etc etc etc....... between the cosmetic models and the very plain ones bar of course in my case lots of £££££££'s

Burner
Aug-13-2005, 9:46am
That new MF5 varnish looks rather nice. I'll have to make do with my MT which is very nice but if I happened to have a wheelbarrow full of money the varnish it would be!

PhilGE
Aug-13-2005, 12:21pm
I think I actually got to hold one of the MF5's w/varnish when I visited Collings about a month ago. Very, very, very (insert several more) nicely finished instrument. However, one could puchase a few less expensive, custom built high quality instruments for the same price. Why put all your eggs in one basket, or maybe, why put all your $$$ (or is that £££) into one egg?

TeleMark
Aug-14-2005, 3:00pm
I played the one at Buffalo Brothers a couple of months ago, and it was nice, butI liked the normal version more. Maybe after a while for seasoning/opening it would be better, but the price difference was significant for a "maybe."

John Rosett
Aug-14-2005, 6:44pm