PDA

View Full Version : String tightness

FAC
Aug-09-2005, 4:35pm
Hi all, this is my first post here, hope I'm posting in the right section.

I have been playing guitar for a few years now, and recently came into possesion of an Ozark 2071 mandolin. I find that the strings are much tighter than on a guitar, which I did expect, but I feel they need too much physical strength to hold down. I know that many guitar players have the tendency at first to press down on the strings much harder than is necessary, but if I don't hold them down this hard, I don't get a clean sound.

Is this the case with all mandolins? Or might mine in some way be incorrectly set up? Or is the Ozark 2071 just maybe not a good choice for a beginner?

If this is the case with all mandolins, I'll just have to practise more and build up more callus and finger strength, but if it is just this certain one, I'm getting rid of it and getting one that's easier to play.

walshb
Aug-09-2005, 5:24pm
It sounds like your mando could need a setup. How's the action on it?
I felt the same way as you when my mando arrived a couple of weeks ago, but after lowering the action and adjusting the truss rod, it plays much easier. It still needs the nut slots to be cut deeper, to make fretting at the first fret easier.
I think a proper setup might make yours much easier to play.
I know nothing about an Ozark mandolin, however.

FAC
Aug-09-2005, 6:10pm
The action doesn't seem to high, but then again, I have nothing to compare it to. The thumbscrews on the bridge are set in the lowest possible position. I took two pictures and spliced them together which I am attaching, I know they are horrible, but maybe they can tell someone something =) The one right half is at the 12th fret, and the left half is at the nut...

It doesn't seem to have an adjustable truss rod...

EDIT: Some very unscientific measuring tells me that there is approx. 1.5-2mm between the G-string and the first fret.

acousticphd
Aug-09-2005, 6:44pm
FAQ,