PDA

View Full Version : Morgan Monroe any good?

russhaire
Jan-16-2004, 12:45pm
Hello I'm brand new to the board. I just moved to the Baltimore Maryland area from Florida. I played mandolin over 20 years ago as a young guy and lately have really been missin it and wanna get back into it. I was wondering if you could tell me anything about the Morgan Monroe mando's. I have seen a couple around here and on Ebay and they are in my price range but I wanted some input on their quality etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much
Russ

thistle3585
Jan-16-2004, 1:22pm
I am happy with my MCM-CB. Of the import mandolins, I think they are in the upper tier in terms of quality and sound. I think most will agree that MM and MK's are the better of the imports. I do believe that the MKs now come with some options like radiused fretboard and scalloped fretboard extension that aren't currently available on MMs.

ab4usa
Jan-16-2004, 2:11pm
Russ,

I'm a longer term Maryland resident, new to Mandolin. Appalacian Bluegrass in Catonsville has both Morgam Monroe and MK Mandos that you could try. I take lessons there and they had 3 or 4 of each in stock.

mandokid
Jan-16-2004, 4:39pm
I have the MM-2. I have to agree that its one of the better imports. If you have the chance to go to the place mentioned in the previous post, definitely try out before you buy. I ordered mine online and am happy with what i got, but many say that the imports can vary in tone.

maroon
Jan-17-2004, 1:04am
I've had my Morgan Monroe MMS-2 for 1.25 years now and am happy with it. I also like the lifetime warranty. Note however, that their website says you have to fill out a form within 10 days of purchase. (I can't remember doing that myself).

prairiewind
Jan-17-2004, 5:13pm
Russ,