PDA

View Full Version : Morris Flattop on the way

gwhamil
Mar-23-2019, 4:02pm
All,

This is my first post, but I have been lurking for a couple of months. I stumbled onto the Mandolin by accident. I have been playing 5 string banjo for a couple of years. Last year, I learned that my Grandpa used to play the banjo and that my cousin, whom I have not seen in about 20 years, had Grandpa's old banjo and mandolin. I contacted my cousin and asked him to send me some pictures. He did better than that, he sent me the banjo and the mandolin. The banjo is a beautiful 1926 Bacon and Day Silver Bell tenor. The mandolin is a no name (probably from the 70's) laminated mandolin with neck and tuner issues. I was mainly interested in the banjo, but strung up the mandolin anyway. Surprisingly to me, I fell in love with the sound of the mandolin. The only problem was that due to extremely high action that can't be fixed without paying much more than the instrument is worth the strings were killing my fingers. I am mainly interested in playing classical, old time, folk, etc. Not really interested in playing bluegrass, so after a lot of research in the forums, I pulled the trigger today on a red sunburst Morris 'A' style oval hole flattop. It is still listed in the classifieds if you want to see a picture of it. The decision came down to either a Big Muddy or a Morris. I went with the Morris because I like the looks of it a little better, and because it was a little less expensive. It should arrive sometime next week. I haven't been this excited since I was a little kid. I would like to thank all of you. Your post over many years concerning Morris mandolins were instrumental (pun intended :)) in helping me make my decision.

spufman
Mar-23-2019, 4:56pm
Awesome! The Morris will be a joy to play and hear, no doubt.

Bob Clark
Mar-23-2019, 6:41pm
Hi Gwhamil,