PDA

View Full Version : Mandolin Picks in the UK

Gaelen
Jul-31-2005, 12:17pm
Could anyone out there tell me where I can buy Mandolin Picks in the United Kingdom ?

I have been playing mandolin (Gibson 1936 A1) for about two years now (guitar for about 20 !) and I am at the moment using Wegen M150's but I would like to try some Dawg picks or similar as most pros seem to recommend that sort of style and weight of pick.

I use EXP 75 strings.

On Guitar I either use Clayton small 1.52mm or the Wegen Bluegrass picks but I find them useless for mandolin.

PS I am not over my depression about missing the tickets for AKUS at my local venue !!!!!!

Mando4Life
Jul-31-2005, 1:39pm
Gaelen,

PM me your address if you want and I'll drop you a Dawg and a Golden Gate in the mail.

It may take a while to get to you; I'm in the US.

Let me know. They are just gathering dust here at home.

WBL

grandmainger
Jul-31-2005, 2:32pm
I rend to order picks from the same places I buy mandop accessories from... I wouldn't order a pick on its own, but if I'm ordering a strap, string, tuner, case, etc, I usually add a couple of picks o the order.

Martin Jonas
Aug-01-2005, 5:08am
Picks are such small items that you're probably better off ordering the more obscure ones from the US. There's nothing to say that you can't use guitar picks -- lots of people do (including pros). The only thing is that many guitarists use very thin picks, which tend not to work on mandolins. Getting guitar picks in the UK isn't a problem (as no doubt you know). I haven't been able to find a UK mail order place that has a decent stock in picks that are specifically labelled "mandolin pick", so if you want to try those, maybe an order from Elderly is the best option. If you go for a wide selection, you have a better chance of finding your personal ideal choice and they're cheap enough that it won't break the bank.

Martin

grandmainger
Aug-01-2005, 5:27am