PDA

View Full Version : My Weber Yellowstone isn't loud enough

mlbex
Jul-22-2005, 10:35am
I'm fairly new to mandolin, and while researching future upgrades, I saw the chance to get a Weber Yellowstone and jumped on it. I love the look and sound of it, but when I take it to jams, it seems like I can't hear it.

At a jam the other night, there was a very good mandolin player with a Lebeda. Everything he played was loud and clear. So I asked him to play my Weber for a few songs, and he was difficult to hear. He agreed, saying that the Weber "wasn't very loud".

My question -- can I do anything to make it louder? I use phosphor-bronze strings in the standard gauge (I think it's 11 to 34), and I tried raising the bridge a bit, although I can raise it more if I need to. Any other ideas?

Thanks

Ken Berner
Jul-22-2005, 10:57am
You might try a Brekke Traditional bridge for your Yellowstone. There have been discussions over the last couple of years concerning solid maple (non-adjustable bridges) solving the volume problem. In some jam situations, you can barely hear your own instrument, that is, until you play an instrumental break. Large jams are no longer a joy for me, as they are entirely too loud and timing becomes a real problem. Good luck.

Mando4Life
Jul-22-2005, 11:15am
Aside from playing time, I'd go for a traditional style bridge. I had one put on mine and it made a difference. also check out www.tone-gard.com....It'll help you too.

Other things you could try are different strings and picks (both thicknesses and materials).

WBL

davestem
Jul-22-2005, 11:50am
Also, make sure you have it well set up. #A bad setup can rob volume. #Particularly an ill-fitted bridge.

earthsave
Jul-22-2005, 11:55am
You sure you dont have 11/41's on there? A 34 would be an extra/ultra light gauge.

sgarrity
Jul-22-2005, 12:07pm
Thats what I was going to ask. Get some J-74's and that should help a lot too

Justin Carvitto
Jul-22-2005, 12:12pm