PDA

View Full Version : Musicology Question

OdnamNool
Jul-19-2005, 7:15am
What is the oldest known civilization? And what were they doing, musically? Or, is this a dumb question? Probably... but I'm curious...

John Flynn
Jul-19-2005, 7:35am
Let me stress I am no expert here, but I have done a little study on this. I hope others will correct me where I am wrong.

What I think I understand about this is that what are now termed civilizations first appeared in Asia and North Africa about 10,000 BC. The first musical instruments were formerly weapons (or at least that was a theory my college antro. prof. was writing a book on). Clubs became percussion instruments, bows and arrows became string instruments and blowguns became wind instruments. Early music was probably just a cacophony of noise-making, a lot like some jams I have been to! Eventually, melodies an rhythms emerged. We really don't know what they sounded like. I believe the earliest music we can re-create accurately comes from about 1000 AD.

mandocrucian
Jul-19-2005, 7:43am
Neanderthal flute (http://www.greenwych.ca/fl-compl.htm)

Neanderthal Jam (http://whyfiles.org/114music/4.html)

OdnamNool
Jul-19-2005, 7:50am
I saw your name on the board, there, M'Johnny, and... somehow I knew you'd have an answer. Sure enuff.

"Bows and arrows became stringed instruments." GOOD ONE! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

OdnamNool
Jul-19-2005, 8:05am
WOW! M'Crucian! Seriously???

John Zimm
Jul-19-2005, 8:28am
I don't know if I buy that theory completely-the banjo is still a weapon of great power.

OdnamNool
Jul-19-2005, 9:46am
Which theory? Humph. I'm getting discouraged, here. Finally I show some seriously... and... ur.... Harumph. Maybe it's simply that nobody knows??? (Except maybe M'Crucian)??? It would be better to have a reply with words... rather than a "link."

Jim Garber
Jul-19-2005, 9:54am