PDA

View Full Version : F5G -vs- Weber Yellowstone

toddr
Mar-11-2004, 2:05am
I'm going to a weber dealer this week to try out a new Yellowstone. The only other Weber I have played was a Bitterroot and it played great, but even though the tone was good it didnt seem to have crisp tone and volume I like. But i was really impressed with the playability and craftmanship. It had a mahoghony back and sides, but the Yellowstone has maple, which I'm sure will sound different. I also have a shot at a new F5G that I'm also going to try. I have played several F5G's. I know that no two mandolins are the same, but of the F5G's I have played some were so-so and a couple were just as good in tone and volume as the Fern hanging next to them. With discounts, the price is comparable, but how consistent is Weber? I'd like some input from anyone who has had experience with either or both.

John Zimm
Mar-11-2004, 9:04am
I've played about a dozen Webers and only a handful of Gibsons, so I am no expert. However, I was amazed at the beautiful tone from each of the Webers I played. The Gibsons really seemed to vary. A couple didn't sound as good as my MK, but there were a couple of Gibsons I played that had such beautiful tone in the bass I was really blown away. Happy mandolin hunting.

-John.

pathfinder
Mar-11-2004, 9:25am
The Webers are very consistent. #It's my understanding that they don't get out of the shop without landing on Bruce's workbench (I believe he graduates the tops). #

I can't comment on the current F-5G's. #I have a '93 F-5L, with which I'm very happy after ten years of tweaking its set-up. And I briefly owned an F-9 last year (which I sold to buy another Weber). #But to be fair, this little F-9 had great tone, volume and sustain.

Anyway, good luck trying the Yellowstone, which was my first Weber purchase five years ago. #I'd be surprised if you're disappointed.

Big Joe
Mar-11-2004, 9:46am