PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question - Tinny E Strings

Em Tee
Feb-10-2018, 12:08pm
I have been playing for about eight months now. I have an eastman 305, which I purchased from the mandolin store about three months ago. It's still strung with whatever strings come stock from TMS (j74, i think?) I use a blue chip CT55 pick. My E strings seem very tinny/whiny sounding, and it's honestly driving me a little crazy. I have been trying to compensate with right hand technique, but I was wondering if there was anything else I could do to mitigate the whine?

Thanks for the help!

(I tried searching the forum for old threads, but I am probably not using the right verbiage)

fscotte
Feb-10-2018, 2:12pm
Try using a heavier E string first. I've played a few eastman's here and there and most seem to have to E string tone you describe. I also notice that most stores use J74's on their mandos as well.

Em Tee
Feb-10-2018, 2:38pm
Any strings you recommend in particular?

Jim Garber
Feb-10-2018, 3:05pm
I could be wrong about this but if you have never changed the strings you may find the tone much nicer if you put new strings on it. If you basically liked the J74s, then stick with that. If you still hate the tone of the e-strings then replace those. You have top start somewhere.

Eric F.
Feb-10-2018, 3:34pm
Eight months without a string change is a bit extreme. If you haven't changed them out of fear of the unknown, frets.com has a nice tutorial.

Try angling the pick a little on the treble strings instead of hitting them head on. If new 74s sound tinny still, try a different set. Go up to 75s or try a different maker. Juststrings.com has a good variety of strings.

Em Tee
Feb-10-2018, 3:54pm
I have been playing for 8 months. I have only owned this mandolin for about 3. Less actually.

OneChordTrick
Feb-10-2018, 4:05pm