PDA

View Full Version : Wayfaring Stranger Improv

Mark Gunter
Jan-21-2018, 11:19pm
Here's an amateur attempt to improvise on Wayfaring Stranger. I'm relatively new at mandolin, and completely new at improvisation, so there's nothing fancy here. Also, I still suck at tremolo.

I've been playing this tune on guitar and singing it for years in Bm, so for this exercise I played it in Bm (capo 2) as I normally do, and attempted to improvise scale tones, then the melody, on mandolin.

-mvKF2rwWR0

Let me know what you think :mandosmiley:

Guitfiddle Mike
Jan-22-2018, 5:57am
Very nice Mark. I'm still working on a beginner version of that myself but I'm not quite ready for the big screen.

MissingString
Jan-22-2018, 6:25am
Great job on the tune and the video. Thumbs up.

Mark Wilson
Jan-22-2018, 6:47am
That's a cool minor chord progression to improvise over. In our jam we played the A part endlessly while taking turns improvising. I like it in Am using c major scale
Well done!

yankees1
Jan-22-2018, 9:36am
Thumbs UP ! You got it !

Mark Gunter
Jan-22-2018, 10:33am
Thanks guys. It was fun playing without a script.

Jess L.
Jan-22-2018, 1:39pm
Sounds great! :mandosmiley:

mtucker
Jan-22-2018, 2:15pm
I think you sound pretty darn good. If you pinky plant, it'll make it way harder to get home. Try tucking in your fingers (more fist-like) with a loose(r) grip on the pick, almost falling out of your hand.

bluesguy63
Jan-22-2018, 8:06pm
Sounding pretty my friend...keep it up!

Mark Wilson
Jan-22-2018, 8:59pm
Improvising is fun and scary once you begin to step in, I'm right there with you. It seems like it comes down to your imagination vs your ability to reproduce what you hear in your mind. Both have to function. :cool: Thanks for posting!

Mark Gunter
Jan-23-2018, 2:07am