PDA

View Full Version : Strap on F-style

Torpedotom
Dec-24-2017, 4:08pm
Being a beginner, I always am sitting when I practice. Yesterday I put a strap on my KM855 F around the scroll and around my back. Well, it did not hang level like my A with the strap attached to a pin on the heel. The F would hang with the neck pointing to the floor. Is this normal? Also, does anyone attach their strap at the nut or to the headstock on an F-model? I never thought so, but I'm thinking I would do better with the strap just over my shoulder. Any ideas?

MediumMando5722
Dec-24-2017, 4:30pm
Yes, that's normal. Most use their right forearm to hold the instrument level.

I've seen a few people tie to the headstock, but I don't like the way guitars or mandolins sit like that. Plus, tying around the scroll obviously looks cooler :)

Ge23ev
Dec-24-2017, 10:32pm
I guess I kinda like when it sits like that. That's how special forces strap their rifles. Kind of feels like I'm strapping an assault rifle that shoots music

Bill Findley
Dec-24-2017, 11:56pm
Have a seat in a chair with no arms, put your left leg on a footstool or the closed case, and you won’t have to worry about tensing up your right arm to hold the mando in a comfortable position. The lower point rests on your left leg. Maybe not as cool as standing, but...you’ll be more comfortable. Got enough else to think about, right?

Bill Kammerzell
Dec-25-2017, 12:12am
I always find it more comfortable when I hand the strap over the right shoulder. Mandolin never felt comfortable with the strap around the back. With a guitar it did. Not with a mandolin though.

jesserules
Dec-25-2017, 1:35am
I'm thinking I would do better with the strap just over my shoulder. Any ideas?

I always find it more comfortable when I hand the strap over the right shoulder.

Good enough for Mr Bill ....

Bill Findley
Dec-25-2017, 1:48am
Check out youtube “Mike Marshall on Mandolin Tips”. Solid.

Mark Gunter
Dec-25-2017, 3:43am