PDA

View Full Version : the first 3 tunes you learned?

mandocrucian
Jul-03-2005, 10:42am
What were the first three tunes you learned when you started playing mandolin? (Or started playing, if on some other stringed instrument)

NH

<span style='font-size:8pt;line-height:100%'>The first tune I learned (on acoustic guitar) was "The Irish Washerwoman". I also learned "Greensleeves"

On mandolin (maybe a year or so later), the very first tune was also "The Irish Washerwoman". "Soldier's Joy" and "MacLeod's Reel" were probably the next ones.</span>

jasona
Jul-03-2005, 10:50am
Father Kelly's Reel, the Dominion Reel, and oddly the Butterfly. I would recommend that you comment to beginners to NOT start with the odd timing of a slip jig Niles--it gave me quite a bit of difficulty!

John Flynn
Jul-03-2005, 10:59am
Decades ago, when I started playing guitar seriously, the first tune I learned the chords to was "Mr. Tambourine Man" by Dylan. Much later, the first tunes I learned the melody to on mandolin were "Woody's Rag," "Wildwood Flower" and "Boil 'Em Cabbage Down," from the Tottle book, "Bluegrass Mandolin."

Kirby161
Jul-03-2005, 11:05am
swallowtail jig, anne the baker, and the cotton patch rag. (the last one took me forever and i was foolish to try and learn it all at such a low skill level but it was a good experience that taught me to look before you eat.)

pickinpox
Jul-03-2005, 11:14am
Down Yonder
Red Wing
Ragtime Annie

SternART
Jul-03-2005, 11:21am
Opus 38
Japan
Soldier's Joy

My first instruction book was Grisman's 10 Tunes in 9 Keys.

PhilGE
Jul-03-2005, 11:58am
Dubuque
June Apple
Barlow Knife

I think... I first picked up mandolin around 18 years ago. Played around for a couple of years, then put it down until 6 years ago or so. These were straight out of the Fiddler's Fakebook.

drelb
Jul-03-2005, 1:17pm
Boil 'Em Cabbage Down
Cluck Ole Hen
The Queen's Polka

Ray Neuman
Jul-03-2005, 1:27pm
Arkansas traveler
StAnnes reel
Whisky before breakfast