PDA

View Full Version : Technical question

mandodebbie
Jun-28-2005, 5:31pm
I was purusing some advanced mandolin music the other day (I'm a curious newbie!)and saw in one measure where the index finger was to slide up (an ascending slide) from the third fret to the fifth on the A string, and...at the same time...the adjacent finger was to slide down (a descending slide) from the fifth fret to the third on the D string. What is this technique called? So far, it is a bit too complicated for me to master... yet. I need to develop more agile finger muscles. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

mandocrucian
Jun-28-2005, 9:39pm
===========
===3/5=====
===5\3=====
===========

What is this technique called?

A paradox? #puzzle? next to impossible (given the fingering description you provided)

But you could do it if you fretted the D string with your RH index finger, and then the two hands cross each other. The soudn the strings, you'd hold the pick with the thumb and middle finger (artificial harmonic style) while the R index is on the 5th fret. #contrary motion slurring

NH

psann
Jun-28-2005, 10:03pm
Huh?

Paul Hostetter
Jun-29-2005, 12:07am
I get it (go Niles!). Michael Hedges for the mandolin. But....why? Whose big idea was this?

I used to know a guy whose hobby was to fabricate recipes for dishes and submit them to recipe contests. He never ever actually made the dishes, he'd just invent them in his head, write them down, and mail them in. He won a bunch of prizes. But he never actually made the things he wrote up. This sort of reminds me of that. Was it from a real piece of music? Is there a recording?

Actually, come to think of it, I bet Nick Lucas would have done something like this.

MandoJon
Jun-29-2005, 4:57am
What is this technique called

A misprint? Just a hunch.

twaaang
Jun-29-2005, 11:17am