PDA

View Full Version : EBay Bowl Back

JohnDiMaggio
Oct-15-2017, 9:55am
I am new at this Mandolin stuff. Teaching myself classical guitar but I am of Italian descent and love the sound of Italian traditional music.

Bought a inexpensive bowlback on ebay.
Two labels inside.

One says "Paola Valiani E fn Figle Napoli" The other says Restored by David Hynds Luthier de Thaims, France. Restored June/July 05.

What did I buy??????

Any recommendations for strings?

bennyb
Oct-15-2017, 11:35am
I'm not a bowlhead myself, but Dave Hynds has a good reputation here, and he has a website mandolinluthier (www.mandolinluthier.com) where you could contact him directly. The usual recommendation on strings is extra lights, but check with Dave to see if you could go heavier.

benny

Jim Garber
Oct-15-2017, 2:24pm
You bought a decent simply-adorned mandolin. It should be fine for playing and you have the advantage of having a good luthier check it out. Many eBay instruments are as-is and sometimes require work to make them truly playable. I would guess that since this is an older mandolin that the caveat to use extra-light strings would apply here as well.

brunello97
Oct-15-2017, 2:51pm
I am new at this Mandolin stuff. Teaching myself classical guitar but I am of Italian descent and love the sound of Italian traditional music.

Bought a inexpensive bowlback on ebay.
Two labels inside.

One says "Paola Valiani E fn Figle Napoli" The other says Restored by David Hynds Luthier de Thaims, France. Restored June/July 05.

What did I buy??????

Any recommendations for strings?

Thanks, John. Would you mind / be able to post a photo of the labels?

I'd be interested in seeing the Valiani lable and also Dave's overlay.

Nice score, btw.

Thanks!

Mick

EdHanrahan
Oct-15-2017, 3:14pm
What did I buy??????

You bought a certified eBay prize that has many of your predecessor bowlback "had-to-haves", a/k/a "us", maybe a wee bit jealous. Or more.

Nicely done!

Jim Garber
Oct-15-2017, 3:28pm