PDA

View Full Version : New Player; String Buzz

Em Tee
Sep-25-2017, 6:37pm
I have been playing for about two months now, taking it slow and being very thorough in my learning. I focus on music theory and learning scales and chords and practice scales over an hour a day. I still am getting buzzing from my g string, especially when playing chords. I thought I woulda built up enough hand strength by now to keep this from happening. Is it possible my hand is still weak or do y'all think it might be the set up/action? (I have a kentucky 162)

pops1
Sep-25-2017, 7:24pm
I would guess setup. If you have something to measure from the top of the 12 fret to the bottom of the G string is should be 1/16", can be less if your fret level is very nice. If yours is less maybe consider raising it some. It could also be a high fret or loose frets. I'd start with the string height and raise the bridge up if it calls for it.

EdHanrahan
Sep-25-2017, 8:48pm
... g string, especially when playing chords. I thought I woulda built up enough hand strength ...

So you're not talking about an open 2-finger G chord, where hand strength doesn't factor into the open G string. IF you're talking about the infamous G-chop chord (big hand stretch, pinky on D at 7th fret of G-string) then it could be almost anything.

Does it happen when you simply fret w/ your index finger on that note?
- If that note is clean, then pinky strength, hand flexibility, fretting accuracy, experience, and/or simple mind over matter are all suspect. Many start by moving the G-chop up 2 or 4 frets to play A or B, with less stretching required as the frets are closer together.
- If just that note buzzes, then a high 8th fret is likely.
- If several notes in that area buzz, then uneven frets, low action, and/or too little neck relief (too straight a neck) are possibilities.

Uhmm, yeah: What Pops1 called "setup"!

Em Tee
Sep-25-2017, 9:10pm