PDA

View Full Version : Is a Rogue a mistake for a beginner?

Joekster
Aug-28-2017, 11:00am
Hey everyone, this is my first post and I had a quick question for all of y'all. I'm a college student looking to get into playing mandolin and I have learned that most any instrument I get will need a form of setting up before it will be properly playable. Considering I only have meager funds right now I was wondering if I should just buy one of the Rogue 100A mandolins for $50 and then try to learn how to set it up myself. I figure that I would rather mess up something cheap than a beautiful instrument that I have invested into.

Considering I do plan on playing mandolin long term though, I am wondering if this will be a mistake and I should just bite the bullet and buy a higher quality instrument.

Thank you all for any feedback!

Tobin
Aug-28-2017, 11:08am
Honestly, if you can afford a better mandolin, buy the better mandolin.

I wouldn't necessarily call a Rogue a "mistake" for a beginner, as long as he or she goes into it knowing what it is and what it needs. Where it becomes a mistake is when people buy it thinking it's a ready-to-play instrument out of the box, or that this is what playing a mandolin should be like. So many people have given up on playing the mandolin out of frustration from these entry-level instruments that they should come with a warning label.

So... if you have the time, tools, patience, and know-how to do the setup yourself, a Rogue can be a playable entry-level mandolin for folks who can't afford anything better. If the only alternative is to never try the mandolin, then it's not a mistake to buy one and set it up. But if you can afford a better one, or afford a professional setup, that's the way to go.

WoodyCTA102
Aug-28-2017, 11:12am