PDA

View Full Version : Strange Museum Find - WWI Helmet-Mandolin

The Past and The Curious
Aug-10-2017, 8:09pm
Hello gang, in addition to podcasting about history and music for families, I also work as an educator at The Frazier History Museum in Louisville, KY. Yesterday our curator called me and told me I needed to come down and check something out. He's working on a WWI exhibit for September and one of the exhibit features is to focus on trench-art, which is quite fascinating on its own.

Well, what he had was this trench-art mandolin made by an American soldier while stationed in Europe. What's crazy is it's almost all military related materials. The body is a helmet the soldier repurposed. The tailpiece is a German belt buckle. The fret markers are primer caps from ammo rounds and the nut is a spent slug.

An awesome and one-of-a-kind piece of history. Thought y'all might like to see it.

Mandoplumb
Aug-11-2017, 4:40am
Looks good but how does it sound. Be hard to put a tone guard on that bad boy.

Bertram Henze
Aug-11-2017, 4:59am
A tiny cry for sanity from within hell, it appears. If it was done in the trenches, building this thing back then made more vital sense to the builder than playing it could make to any player today. OTOH, if it was done in the trenches, where did the top come from? What happened to the previous users of all those parts?

The German belt buckle says "God with us", a bitter greeting from a time where people pretended to fight on a side they hadn't asked for permission first.

mugbucket
Aug-11-2017, 6:56am
That's pretty cool.

How is the neck attached?

Thanks for sharing!

fatt-dad
Aug-11-2017, 7:00am
where's the thread for circular mandolins? A winning candidate for sure!

f-d

William Smith
Aug-11-2017, 7:09am
Pretty Kool. One can pick a tune then use at as a weapon!

Willie Poole
Aug-11-2017, 10:42am