PDA

View Full Version : Chopin on my Eastman Mandolin

Mitch Sumner
Jul-17-2017, 10:21pm
Hi there. This is my first post here. I thought I'd share this arrangement I did of a Chopin Etude that features the mandolin. I'm still quite new to the instrument though (less than a year) so I'd gladly take any advice on technique. I noticed that my right hand looks rather unnatural but I've never felt any discomfort. I feel comfortable planting my wrist in a certain spot and this is the result. If anyone knows whether this is acceptable or has any tips I'd appreciate it. Anyway, I hope you enjoy!

https://youtu.be/ydYligplDkw

Peter Coronado
Jul-17-2017, 11:51pm
Great pickin'! Your pick grip does look a bit unusual. I changed my grip after watching Mike Compton up close for an hour. Look for Mike Compton playing "Methodist Preacher" to get a good look at his grip.

Jordan Ramsey
Jul-18-2017, 12:11am
Hi Mitch, nice playing! And very cool multitrack/video editing! Your pick grip / the way you plant your wrist and move your hand / etc... is not that big of an issue, IMO.... The main technique culprit that I do see is your pick direction. Right now, you are alternating every pick stroke regardless of the beat. Instead, you should swing your wrist with the pulse of the tune, so that you have strong pick strokes (down strokes) on strong beats (1, 2, 3, 4, etc.) and up stokes on weak beats (the "ands"). There are plenty of exceptions to this rule, but it is the best default approach for fluid up-tempo playing in most styles. Take it from someone who spent two beginning years self taught, only to have to eventually rework my entire right hand approach. The sooner you deal with it, the better off you'll be. You certainly have a great start musically, I think that squaring away your pick direction habits will totally elevate your mandolin playing. All the best,

Mitch Sumner
Jul-18-2017, 1:56am