PDA

View Full Version : through a glass darkly

billkilpatrick
Mar-09-2004, 9:17am
this is an elementary tuning question about the order of strings.

as i understand it, the mandolin is traditionally tuned in fourths, e-a-d-g. does that mean the "e" is bass and the "g" treble, or is it the other way round?

if, as i suspect, the order of strings is traditionally held to be re-entrant (i understand that to mean treble "e" up and bass "g" down, pointing towards the floor) then is it acceptable to reverse the order to something like a guitar? i started playing music on a guitar and find it very difficult to go down to find the bass notes.

i don't own a mandolin but i'm trying to convince my charango to behave like one. if you won't allow me - it - to make this transition then i'll call it a "citole" and suffer the consequences.

till then, dazed and confused and ever hopeful, i remain - bill

Jim Garber
Mar-09-2004, 9:32am
Huh??

First of all... the very basics... a Neapolitan mandolin is tuned G-D-A-E low to high which makes it tuned in fifths. The lowest bass strings (G) are the the fourth course which is closest to you and the highest (E) is closest to the floor.

Same tuning as the violin. Of course you can tune your charango any way you want but in reality the charango is traditionally tuned mroe like a guitar, i.e. in fourths: G-C-E-A-E low to high.The highest strings is a fifth above the 2nd course.

As far as i understand it, re-entrant tuning refers to the situation where the lower pitched string (or strings) -- normally bass on the instrument -- would be pitched higher, the prime example would be the ukulele in which the fourth string would be higher than all but the very first. BTW the soprano uke is also tuned in fourths sim to the charango: g-C-E-A or a-D-F#-B. Ukes can be played like guitars lacking the two bass strings but either a fourth or a fifth higher.