PDA

View Full Version : Help with terrible sounding K&K Twin Mandolin Pickup

eelcobeckers
May-29-2017, 10:04am
i recently purchased a almost new eastman 614 mandolin (the one with the oval soundhole). it came fitted with the factory standar pickup which I believe is a K&K Twin Mandolin Pickup . One of the reaons I purchased it was because the reviews where so good. The mandolin itself is great, but plugged in it sounds absolutely terrible. very boxy and muddy, a bit like a cheap car radio! We use lots of other acoustic instruments in the band and they all sound great, the pickup is definitely the problem.

i suppose my question has anybody else had the same problem?
also would a K&K preamp improve the sound? I dont want to spend even more money if the preamp wont change the sound drastically!

thanks everyone!

CES
May-29-2017, 10:19am
I'm by no means an expert on the electronics side of things, but general consensus is that most of this type of pickup require a preamp. I use the LR Baggs Venue DI with good results, though usually with a Baggs soundhole pickup on Guitar. I generally play at church, so a mike usually suffices for me.

If you bought from TMS, Folk Musician, Elderly, etc, you should call to discuss with them, possibly even while you're plugged in so they can hear the problem. Of course, others with far more experience will chime in as well.

Hope you find a simple and relatively inexpensive solution! It's frustrating when you want plug and play simplicity and don't get it! As Pat McManus said, "it's all about sequences."

mandroid
May-29-2017, 10:21am
You got the K&K preamp as the next thing in the signal chain? You don't say. If not try that.

Others have said they like other makes of Piezo input preamps, in prior posts.. check out those postings.

eelcobeckers
May-29-2017, 11:12am