PDA

View Full Version : Different Picks for Different Instruments

banjoboy
May-07-2017, 6:55pm
I've been hacking away at mandolin for a few years. I recently purchased a guitar and am working on trying to be a passible rhythm player. I was just wondering, do any of you folks use a different pick for mando playing vs playing guitar?

gtani7
May-07-2017, 7:11pm
I use big triangles for mandolin and large jazz 3 types (actually a gravity sunrise gold is current favorite, but basically that shape) on guitar, Propik fingerpicks and bluechip JD crowe thumbpick on banjo

Mandoplumb
May-07-2017, 7:12pm
Yes. A guitar string is not as "tight" as a mandolin and for that reason I use a thinner more flexible pick, not a floppy too thin but not as thick as I use on mandolin.

Ryk Loske
May-07-2017, 7:45pm
You won't like this ...... but to play good RHYTHM GUITAR you need high action and at least medium gauge strings. (I use heavy.) A pick at least 1.5mm. Depending on the situation i'll use Dugains which are 4mm.

Rhythm is what i do on guitar.

Ryk

LadysSolo
May-07-2017, 7:52pm
Depends on if I'm strumming or plucking. If I'm strumming, same picks. But there is not much difference for me. I use 0.75-1.0 picks either way.

Jim Garber
May-07-2017, 9:43pm
I've been hacking away at mandolin for a few years. I recently purchased a guitar and am working on trying to be a passible rhythm player. I was just wondering, do any of you folks use a different pick for mando playing vs playing guitar?

First of all what genre(s) of music are you playing or what would you like to play? That may or may not make a difference. Actually I am not even sure that you are talking about acoustic rhythm guitar. More details might help.

You won't like this ...... but to play good RHYTHM GUITAR you need high action and at least medium gauge strings. (I use heavy.) A pick at least 1.5mm. Depending on the situation i'll use Dugains which are 4mm.

Rhythm is what i do on guitar.

Ryk