PDA

View Full Version : 2003. Breedlove Rogue

Grimm
Apr-11-2017, 9:36pm
https://i.imgur.com/MzSEkMC.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/AfxxF20.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/hJ9NtJr.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/OUN7Quf.jpg

I am a musician who has always wanted to play mandolin. I finally decided to get started. Better late than never right?
I am starting my journey with this used Breedlove I found in a local shop. I feel very lucky as I am from a place where there's little demand for mandos.
I am a novice with the instrument, but I have a decent ear. It sounds great to me, especially compared to the other instruments I was considering in the same price range.
Let me know what you think! And thanks for looking.

Dan

almeriastrings
Apr-12-2017, 12:37am
Very nice find. Those are a really fine quality instrument. Quite rare. Not many out there at all - I believe only 16 made?

Original list price on those was $6K!!!

https://themandolinstore.com/product/used-breedlove-master-class-rogue-sold/

GKWilson
Apr-13-2017, 2:22pm
A couple of the best sounding mandolins I've heard
were Breedloves from that era.
Very loud with beautiful bell tones.
What a great find and what a great first [and lifetime]
instrument to start on. Enjoy.

GKWilson
Apr-13-2017, 2:24pm
Always thought that Rogue River inlay was cool.

MikeZito
Apr-13-2017, 2:42pm
Welcome to the mandolin world! After nearly 40 years of being a musician (albeit, not a very good one) the mandolin is still, by far, the instrument that I find most fun. (Well, a VibraSlap is fun too, but I don't think that REALLY counts as an instrument.)

Enjoy the ride!

Randi Gormley
Apr-14-2017, 10:34am
don't know if anyone else has mentioned this, but the Rogue name is also attached to the plywood Musician's Friend brand mandolin you can buy for $49. Just so you understand to refer to it as a Breedlove (which has a certain reputation) rather than just as a Rogue (which has another reputation entirely!).