PDA

View Full Version : Info required

Karaokeb
Feb-24-2017, 10:17am
Just joined and would like to say hello to fellow members I live in Mid Wlaes in the UK. I am new to the mandolin and whilst I have an inexpensive instrument I am looking to upgrade. I have come across a Pendragon Irish Rover. Made by a luthier named Andy Evans about 10 years ago who used to live in a place called Penarth just outside Cardiff Wales UK. The instrument is located about 5.5 hours drive away from where I live and I am reluctant to drive to see it without contacting the maker. I cannot find any trace of him in the UK but have been told that he moved either to the USA or Canada some years ago. Does anybody on this forum know him if so contact details would be appreciated. Having said that does anybody have one of his instruments I would be very appreciative to hear what you think of it.

NEH57
Feb-25-2017, 9:18am
It looks nice. Personally not keen on the fret markers and 'gold' tuners, but the wood looks lovely.
There are references to a Pendragon Guitar company on the States, but that is an operation run by a Bill Campbell.

At the same address that Andy Evans operated out of when 'working' there is a Boat Builder listed and the Guitar building operation seemed to be based "at the back of" the building so the boat builders may be worth a call.
Also, according to some research, Andy Evans was an apprentice to Gordon Smith Guitars who are listed on the Web, so they might know where he is and what he is doing, if anything.

Karaokeb
Feb-27-2017, 11:29am
Hello NEH57,